2022 YEAR-IN-REVIEW: A MEMORABLE YEAR

Ayodabo oluwatomisin
3 min readDec 31, 2022

--

End of a chapter, the beginning of another

A RECAP

This year has been a fantastic year for me. I never expected this growth in my career and life; from struggling to earn a decent living to paying my first rent, my life went from zero to a hundred in just a year.

I thank Almighty Allah for his endless mercy and blessings on my life, my parents for their never-ending support, my brother (benefactor) whom I owe everything I am, and my friends and loved ones. It hasn’t been easy, but here we are; as DJ Khalid said, “God did”.

It does not matter how slowly you go as long as you do not stop.

I have been opportune to be a part of many great stories and events that have helped shaped me and mould me into what I am today. I had a lot of ups and downs. I made money, lost money, and all in all; I found love. This is how my year went with little “tongue-in-cheek” stories.

Beginning of year

This year started on a high for me. I got my current role in February after a series of “sorry, we will not be moving forward with your……” (lol). The job came at a time when I had given up and accepted my fate of not always getting to the end of the interview process. This particular one was different for me, as I practically “jumped” to the last process right from the start. I got that. Great start to the year!

Then came the news of the strike. This allowed me to focus on my new role and give my all to helping the organisation grow. I had some ups and downs during the few months in the role, but I forged ahead and never gave up. Also, I pushed harder to learn new technologies related to my position and expanded my knowledge pool by delving into a new, unfamiliar field. It was an exciting project, as I had to rewrite a code written in one language into another. This made me learn about code design and architecture, a compelling topic I recommend to everybody, regardless of their role in tech. A code worth writing is written well. Document and test your code, peeps; you won’t be the only one to see it.

Middle of Year: Forgettable period

I nearly lost my job and also had an issue that almost made me consider leaving. But thanks to my former team lead (Olamide) and teammate (Paul), I could keep on and keep learning and improving. I can’t go into the details, but I cried over the issue.

Q3-Q4: Overdrive mode

This period especially for me, was where most things happened for me. I got a lot of gigs that amounted to 6 figures (gunning for seven next year) in earnings for me, beating my Q1-Q2 earnings by over 100%. During this period, I also found the love of my life, and my life changed for the better. I can go on and on about it, but it will become boring. Yes, you guessed it. This period has been the best part of the year for me.

In terms of work, not so much due to some complications. School also resumed during this period, which put me in a very precarious situation. Balancing school and work haven’t come easy, coupled with gigs, but Alhamdullilah, I haven’t stopped, nor am I stopping. This is the list of my memorable events and achievements this year.

  • Got a job
  • Got me a phone with my money (which was important cos I never did that before)
  • Fell extremely sick
  • Got a Macbook Pro
  • Found love amidst the crazy pool out there.
  • Paid for and furnished an apartment all with my own money.
  • Made new friends and connections.
  • Made and spent a lot of money (I did not believe I could)

Thank you for reading my year-in-review. I appreciate your patience and love. Cheers to another amazing year ahead for all of us

P.S: Be kind, help someone out, and do not wait till another time

--

--

Ayodabo oluwatomisin

I am a Data Scientist and a Web Developer. I also write great articles!